Skip to main content

Canyon Springs High School

Mobile Menu Toggle

Requirements of IB Diploma Program

Requirements of the IB Diploma Program

Students take prerequisite courses in the 9th and 10th grades, and will join the IB Diploma Program for their Junior and Senior year. The IB Diploma program is another way for students to meet their A-G requirements for college and enhance their marketability for universities.

A diploma candidate is required to take six IB courses and six IB exams. Additionally, candidates are required to complete the Theory of Knowledge course, the Extended Essay, and the Creativity, Action, and Service hours.

A certificate candidate not participating in the Diploma program will be eligible to take a max of 3 IB courses to receive credit. Students receive a certificate (a certificate of results) indicating the results obtained in individual subjects. A certificate candidate can receive college credit based on their IB exam score.

IB Curriculum & Assessment

Students can take a minimum of 3 but a maximum of 4 higher level courses (240 teaching hours), and a minimum of 2 but a maximum of 3 standard level courses (150 teaching hours).Students choose courses from the following subject groups: studies in language and literature; language acquisition; individuals and societies; sciences; mathematics; and the arts. Students may opt to study an additional sciences, individuals and societies, or languages course, instead of a course in the arts if applicable.

Two Types of Assessment:

Internal Assessment
Students complete internal exams within the classroom. These exams are marked by the student’s teacher and then moderated by external IB examiners. Internal assessments vary by subject, but can include oral presentations, in class essays, replication of experiments, lab reports, research papers, and oral interviews.

External Assessment
The IB Diploma Program students take written exams in May at the end of each course. These exams are marked (graded) by external IB examiners.

All IB courses are two years in length. Therefore, all IB students will take written exams in May at the end of their senior year. Tests are categorized as Higher Level (HL) and Standard Level (SL). Diploma students must take at least 3 HL exams and score a minimum of 24 out of a possible 45 in order to earn an IB diploma. Students are awarded marks (scores) for each course based on their performance on both the external exams in May and their internal exams throughout the year. The marks range from 1 (lowest) to 7 (highest). Earning the IB Diploma will result in an overall score from both Internal and External examinations.